House to house collections

House to house collections as regulated under the House to House Collections Act 1939 and the House to House Collections Regulations 1947.

All such collections require a licence issued by Slough Borough Council, unless a National Exemption Order has been issued by the Secretary of State. The licence allows charitable organisations to go from house to house (including businesses and public houses) collecting money and other goods to raise funds for charity.

Slough Borough is split into seven collection areas, by ward(s), as follows;

1) Britwell and Northborough /Haymill and Lynch Hill /Cippenham Green
2) Cippenham Meadows /Farnham
3) Baylis & Stoke /Chalvey
4) Elliman/Wexham Lea /Central
5) Langley St Mary's /Foxborough
6) Upton /Langley Kedermister
7) Colnbrook with Poyle

We may refuse to grant a licence, or may revoke a licence already granted, on the following statutory grounds:

  • inadequate amount of money to be given for charitable purposes
  • excessive payments to persons from the collection proceeds
  • likelihood of begging offences being committed under the Vagrancy Act 1824
  • applicant is not considered fit and proper, having been convicted of specified offence(s) detailed in the 1939 Act
  • applicant has previously failed, or is likely to fail, to exercise due diligence to ensure compliance with regulations, conduct of collectors etc
  • applicant has not furnished such information as we “may reasonably require.”

If your application is refused you may appeal against the decision to the Secretary of State within 14 days of the notice.

Within one month of a collection licence expiring the chief promoter must complete and return a certified account of the amount collected and how the proceeds were distributed.

Full details of the application process, regulations, application form and returns form can be found below.